top of page

How to Balance Chakras with Self-Love

Updated: Feb 23, 2023

Chakras are energy centers found throughout the body that are linked to physical, mental, and emotional well-being. Each of the seven main chakras is associated with certain traits, such as communication and trust, and when they are out of balance, it can lead to a lack of self-love. Working with the chakras to bring them back into balance can help to create a strong sense of self-love. However, self-love can also help bring balance to your chakras.

The seven major chakras run along your spine, starting at the bottom and ending at the top of your head. The chakras in order from first to last are the Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Heart Chakra, Throat Chakra, Third Eye Chakra, and last but not least, the Crown Chakra. Below I explain how you can find balance within each chakra with the help of self-love and how in turn that balanced chakra helps you love yourself more.

The Root Chakra, also called the Base Chakra, is the first energy center and is found at the base of the spine. It is linked to our basic needs and our sense of security. If you are feeling out of balance in your Root Chakra, consider doing physical activities, spending time outdoors, practicing grounding meditations and eating root vegetables. When your Root Chakra is in balance you feel grounded and safe within yourself. This feeling of safety helps you to gain a stronger connection with yourself and love for yourself.

Found below the navel, the Sacral Chakra is associated with creativity, emotions, and sensuality. Expressing your emotions through artistic or creative outlets, owning your sensuality, embracing activities that bring you pleasure and connecting with your emotions regularly are just a few ways that you can find balance within your Sacral Chakra. Being in touch with your feelings and expressing yourself creatively can help you to connect to your true self and help you find new ways to express love towards others, as well as yourself.

The Solar Plexus Chakra, located just below the ribcage, is connected to self-esteem, willpower, and autonomy. If you do not feel worthy of love, you cannot be receptive to it, especially from yourself. Practices to help balance your Solar Plexus Chakra are: setting personal, spiritual, and energetic boundaries; being more independent; stepping outside of your comfort zone; and acknowledging your accomplishments. Developing a strong sense of self-worth and honoring your personal power can help build up your confidence, your independence and also the love you have for yourself.

You can find your Heart Chakra in the center of your chest. The Heart Chakra is connected to unconditional love and compassion. This is an important chakra for self-love because, without compassion and love for yourself, you can never truly love and have compassion for others. You can create balance in your Heart Chakra by journaling, practicing breath work, treating yourself the way you would treat your best friend, and embracing yourself in loving hugs. When you show yourself compassion and forgiveness, you learn to open your heart more to yourself and to others.

The chakra associated with communication and self-expression is called the Throat Chakra. You won’t be surprised to know that the Throat Chakra is found in the throat. You can create balance within your Throat Chakra through singing, expressing your opinions and thoughts verbally, as well as unapologetically being your true self. When you express your feelings, speak your truth and live as your most authentic self, you are practicing self-love through your Throat Chakra.

The Third Eye Chakra, also known as the Brow Chakra, can be found between the eyebrows and is connected to intuition and insight. Exploring different points of view, meditating through visualization, dream journaling and practicing memory recall are just a few ways you can bring balance to your Third Eye Chakra. When you find balance within your Third Eye Chakra you are able to tap into your inner wisdom and open your mind to new perspectives, allowing you to find acceptance and connection with yourself.

The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head. Your spiritual connection and your sense of purpose are both linked to the Crown Chakra. Gratitude, mindfulness and mediation are great ways to help you find the divine within yourself and strengthen your spiritual connections, which in turn helps you balance your Crown Chakra. Through working with your Crown Chakra you can develop a deeper connection to the divine in addition to finding your unique purpose. This allows you to cultivate love for yourself and discover inner peace.

When you take the time to show yourself love by working to balance your chakras, you improve the flow of energy through your body which in turn helps you grow spiritually. As you begin your chakra balancing journey be patient with yourself, have compassion for yourself, give yourself grace and don’t forget to show yourself love whenever you can.

(View this blog post and additional writings by Nicole Glosser on her business website

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page