top of page

What is Grief?

Grief is a natural response to any loss. You feel emotional suffering when you feel something or someone you deeply love is taken away.

This is human nature to naturally respond to loss. When we grieve, we do so for many reasons, not just over the sudden passing of a loved one or even when we’re prepared to lose someone. Any loss can cause grief, for example, going through a divorce or relationship breakup, loss of financial stability, a miscarriage, loss of a friendship, or even a pet's death. Grief can emerge when there is a big life transition.

Everyone will experience this transition differently and there is no “right” way to grieve. You will behave in ways you don’t expect or experience emotions you didn’t know you had. Grief has many feelings of any combination. According to the Kübler-Ross model, there are five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. However, grief has no chronological order. Your grief is your grief and just like you, it is unique.

It is essential to be aware of the different types of grief so we may continue on a path of learning and healing. It is your job to process and express your emotions in a manner that doesn’t harm you or anyone else. When we are experiencing grief, it is important we take extra care of ourselves. Embracing self-love and self-care while grieving means doing what is healthy for you. Even though it may feel like your world is crumbling around you. You are never alone and you are always loved.

I do believe that there is good to be found in grieving. It is a time of transformation and evolution. It is an opportunity to learn more about yourself. I have gone through tragic losses in my own life. By experiencing loss I can help those who are going through it too. I am able to be of service to them, even if by simply being present for them. Grief is painful because human beings love deeply. But that same love is there for you, to be present with you as you experience it.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page